Observed

Eating fresh smoked salmon he'd caught and helped smoked inspired another day of fishing today.

With warm day temperatures the fish action dropped off yesterday and today. But Alex was still keen to try this morning.

I think I impressed him by offering left over dessert for breakfast. I guess that's the sort of thing god mothers get away with (and I'm not going to eat a lot of left over pudding).

Fishing at a junior fishery means I'm not allowed to fish. I can show, cast and demonstrate but I can't reel in a fish.

My role is to tie knots, add, subtract or change hooks, suggest a change in lure or soft bait, put soft baits onto jig heads, keep order with used tackle, supply snacks, lunch and water.

Get jackets, apply sun block, take jackets away, oh and swiftly deal with any keepers (fish you decide to keep), gut and clean them.

It's been good. I've enjoyed our time together and felt sad to see him go home this evening. The house feels empty and Wilson seems to be missing his friend too.

I still have another day off tomorrow as the university is closed. I'll try to do some work on the stuff I've been doing for my future. I'm pretty keen for a spot of fishing too....

I was the only woman actively involved with fishing over the weekend. There were plenty of men there with their kids and sometimes Mum, but they were always reading or texting.

I think we can confirm I am unusual :-)

But the tramping/fishing shorts, swandri bush shirt and gumboots must come to an end. My attention must turn to the wedding I'm attending next Saturday. Serious girly preparation is required.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.