The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

It's Gettin' Hot In Here

100 degrees F. Really? It is May 29th! It is Spring, not Summer, right?

Last year, I worked on an animated film that required adaptation from Danish to English. It was over 100 degrees F the entire time we worked on the film, from SAG affiliation, talent scouting of voice talent, to recording and signing off on the project. There are still sweat stains on the carpet underneath my writing chair.

Today, I had a flashback to 2011, and prayed that today was just a freakish one, and that we are not destined to have another long, hot summer.

Think about it. When we are kids, we run around and play in the heat. We suck on popsicles, guzzle water out of the garden hose, and swim in pools of....whatever is around.

In a little over a week, I will attend my first Summer sleepover in over 30 years. I will stay at the lake cottage of one of my oldest pals, and avoid swimming at all costs. (Let's hope the black and white bathing suit doesn't reappear.) After all, the lake will be cold, and I do not like my hair to get wet.

A group of us are getting together to celebrate the life of a dear friend, who recently escaped death. We will act like school girls, barbecue, and stay up... until we all fall asleep.

I hope we get to tell scary stories and make S'Mores. I adore a nice camp fire and the company of close friends.

It's going to be great to be a kid again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.