The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Bears Eat Beets.

This poor Armenian farmer raises beets for a living. She has to tend to the crops, as the natural farming resources of her province of Lori, are not properly sustained by the Armenian government, and 80% of working-age men leave to go and work in Russia as migrant factory workers.

This situation makes me very sad, as I am 1/2 Armenian and 1/2 Russian, and have gardening in my blood. My family members love to garden, and both of my grandmothers tended to massive gardens after moving to the United States.

The biggest obstacle that Armenian farmers face is their old, broken farm equipment. Many machines are 50 years old, and the farmers cannot fix them. They sow their fields, yet cannot harvest them. The government gives out seeds, but poor weather and poor educational systems prevent people from making optimal use of resources.

They don't know how to get new equipment or apply for assistance.

I thought of my daughter today as I snapped this photo. She has expressed the desire to work on an organic farm this summer. She is looking to go to either France or Switzerland, and has even considered Corsica.

Somehow, I doubt the farmers in those countries suffer the lack of sufficient fertilizer and irrigation systems. I'm sure that they have far better resources for those who choose to work the land and grow food for the populace.

Armenia became its own country after the Soviet Union collapsed. For the last 20 years, the young nation has been suffering the pains of being an independent nation. The people there have worked long and hard to regroup and make it on their own.

They are still struggling, but little by little, they are coming into their own.

There is a huge price paid for freedom, and the Armenian people are a tough breed. As I learn more about the puzzle pieces of my life, I realize that perseverance is part of who I am.

It's in my Armenian blood. I am a survivor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.