Hunting

Today was not one of our most successful days ever!
We got up late and I had a lovely long bath but then it went a bit downhill when we headed off to the village Easter Egg Hunt. In the newsletter we get through the door it said it was on 10.30-1pm. Perfect, no need to rush.
As we walked through the village - at 1145am - we saw a sign that said it was on 10.30-12.30. Annoying but no problem I thought - we still had forty-five minutes.
When we got to the village hall they were packing away and said the egg hunt was over.
Miss E was so upset. And cross with me for going late. Annoying.
Apparently everyone else had gone after church. How lovely for them.
Luckily we bumped into Mrs S and Mr C walking the dogs and they kindly gave the Little Misses a bag of goodies they had.
Although Miss E was still disappointed. She said really sadly "It's not the eating I like Mummy, it's the hunting and finding them"
Making me feel like the worst mother in the world for not organising an egg hunt of our own.
When we got home I raided cupboards and Mr K's office to cobble together what I could for an egg hunt in the garden. It wasn't a bad haul: six little things to find each. Mostly thanks to Auntie T!!
The Little Misses were giddy hunting round. They both clutched their lists and ticked everything off as they found it. Brilliant!
Miss E was great, managing to leave Miss L's things alone when she found them. She smugly told Miss L she'd found them but didn't spoil the fun!
Later on in the afternoon - inspired by GowanGirl - I thought it would be fun to try dying some eggs. 
It was fun but a complete failure!!
We blew out half a dozen eggs - helped by Mr K who has freakishly big lungs and managed to do it without feeling like his head was about to explode! Miss E managed pretty well too once the holes were made bigger. And she only dropped one!!
From there it went a bit downhill! I mixed up water, food colouring and vinegar and, wearing our rubber gloves, we all excitedly dipped the eggs in.
Nothing happened. 
The eggs in the red dye took on a slight tinge, the ones in the blue dye stayed exactly the same.
I tipped the entire bottles of food colouring into mugs and dunked the eggs in. Partial success.
By this time the Little Misses had lost interest - after splattering food colouring all over the kitchen - and I was cross. Why does nothing ever work like it's supposed to?!!!!
The first time I ever swore was while trying to make something they were making on Blue Peter. I was only about six and I remember getting really frustrated, disappointed. I thrilled my mum by exclaiming "Oh for ****'s sake!!!!!"
Things don't change!!!
My final Easter triumph was dinner. I just don't think of Easter in the same was as Christmas so hadn't done anything special for dinner. We normally have a Sunday roast anyway. At about 4pm I went to the kitchen to start dinner and discovered that the cupboards were pretty much bare. Burgers and chips it was.
For Mr K and the Little Misses.
I had a nice six egg omelette!!!!
Must try harder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.