OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Fog

Kirkwall was foggy this morning but it started to clear as my bus neared Stromness. I hoped some would stay around fro the crossing to Hoy, but only a little remained on the hills of Stenness.
I went to Hoy to volunteer again with the RSPB. I was one of several people monitoring a  white-tailed eagles nest- the first in the Northern Isles for 140 years! Most of my trips to Hoy recently have had me sitting deep in a willow patch watching the eagles and recording their behaviour. It was all kept as quiet as possible to allow them peace, but the RSPB have now announced the news so that people can be informed about the benefits, or otherwise, of the birds presence. Such huge birds are hard to keep under wraps, especially with social media. A lot of people will want to see the birds so hopefully everything will work out for birds, visitors and Hoy residents alike. I won't miss that willow patch! More shots, none of eagles, here: https://www.flickr.com/photos/octobermoth/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.