Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Tasty!

I saw first hand something that the house finches get for nutrition - ocotillo.  I've read that they eat seeds, fruit and leaf buds but until this year I really hadn't been observing them so closely.  I thought I saw one nibbling on a loose piece which was laying on the wall several days ago, but that was soon abandoned, so I didn't give it a second thought.

I've very thankful for having been encouraged by my friend Alma to buy that big lens.  Not only am I able to shoot these small birds (5"/13 cm) which are so far away from me - but I am able to find them.  It's because of her and her encouragement and expertise as a professional nature photographer her entire life that I learn something new and exciting every day!  So thanks, Alma, for everything!!!

Allergy season here has never been worse.  My allergy doctor insists I'm only  allergic to one type of grass, two kinds of trees, sage brush and two molds.  Phooey!  I'm dying here!  What's worse, the wind has been howling every day, whipping up the pollen even more.  I've had to close the house up today for the first time and put on my AC fan (much to my chagrin) to let my allergen filter start working.  When I did, it started flashing, "replace batteries."  DAMN!  I couldn't get the face of the thermostat off.  I called the company.  I haven't had my Spring service yet, either, so they will be coming out first thing in the morning.  In the meantime, I'm hoping the fan doesn't crap out on me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.