Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

The Quails Get Thirsty, Too!

Honestly, I think the best thing I've ever done has been to put the two water dishes out for the birds. Mrs. Gambel's Quail seems to be loving every drop so much that she's double slurping. That's a tough trick!

I know that lots of folks have hummingbird feeders.  I can see one from my yard, at a house down below me and I know many of the  residents on my street have them.  Plus, in the Spring and early Summer, there are plenty of flowers from which hummers can drink their nectar.

But I'm betting there are a lot fewer sources of water for the medium and small sized birds, especially when it gets really hot. They use them not only to drink but to hop in to cool off. At those times, those shallow dishes evaporate so quickly that I have to refill them three or four times a day.  I also have scrub them out about every other day, too.

I am going away for a week in late July/August and I am going to have to make arrangements for the birds to be taken care of, at least once a day.  Otherwise, I will feel so guilty  that I will be thinking of them the entire time I will be in Buffalo and will enjoy myself much less.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.