strip show

OUTER:
Our final morning in Tobermory. We walked in the stirring sun towards the bus southbound. In the harbour there were daffodils in bloom and the bright colours so striking in high contrast behind. We boarded the bus, a wee bit woozy but happy from the days spent together around these islands.

JACKET:
In the bloom of these flowers nature speaks. Look at what colour can do to a mood. There is  vibration; resonance with the man made buildings behind. A choice of harmony in the visible specturm. Assonance in the visual field. It tickles at my mood and unmakes me, a trout in a dappled stream beneath a shady stone speckled hid on the sparkling bed suddenly thrown water high into the air. I gulp at this new element.

SHIRT:
I have children. Children of the cyberworld, of the electronic connection. I understand them because I was a child of the ZX-81 and films and books and was happy there connecting. These past days we unplugged. We switched to analog among the ancient abbey's and volcanic islands and impeccably white sand and we still recognised one another and played daft and were ourselves outside in the sun and chill wind and the spectrum of light and landscape we shared. 

T-SHIRT:
When we were out my kids would suggest photographs. They were seeing. They pointed beautiful things unseen by me, but things that resonated within me as soon as they pointed them out. A smile met a smile met a smile. It was a smile cubed. A recognition cubed. Each of us our own but vibrating on the same wavelength.

Ys:
The thing that anchored me to the ground during the unravelling of my marriage was the children. I could peg myself into making sure that they were okay and loved and free of guilt or affiliation. This was the one thing I did right.
When we walked to the bus this morning there was talk of their mum and her side of the family that had no filter for my benefit. I did this. Let me go against every Roman Calvanist instinct and say I did right, I did well. They can love unfettered and talk about it free because what happened was only between their mum and me.

BARE BUFF:
I want us to be here forever in this glorious time. Such happy colours. Colours are a feeling and I feel the kids being themselves. Who they are, their own funny wee muddle and I don't tell them that who they are isn't good enough. I don't tell them they will have to change to meet this world. I show them that here we are, we three out in the northern sun smiling and mucking about and dancing in our own colours of the spectrum the light refracts, this spot where sun and water meet. These two elements of life.
In Mull we met the pastel bright colours. The shades of light. The blinding white, and onyx black of the volcanic landscape. They were all there and we mixed our own colours among them step by step by brushstroke of our hearts speaking uniquely, twosomely, a trinity. The inside meeting the outer elements: cubed. Then squared. Then just daft laughs without a care of who was looking. We were a family. Let me take this picture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.