Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Remembering South Uist...

Dear Diary,

I'm in a bit of a nostalgic mood this morning.  I went rummaging around in my digital files for an "Icon of the Experience" for my time on South Uist in 2011.  I had made a trip there in 2005 when I first began to practice my photography again and was still fully committed to the monochrome image.  My trip in 2011 was an entirely different one.  For one thing, I stayed only on South Uist rather than traveling the length and breadth of the Outer Hebrides.  And perhaps most important of all, I full embraced the color image.

I designate an Icon for every trip I make.  One image, should all others be lost, that would reflect not only the location I was in but my experience in that landscape.  This is my Icon for that 2011 trip.  It shows Loch Bee and a moment of incredible calm...the tiny cow giving a sense of perspective.  The wind blows pretty much all the time on South Uist but for this one moment it stopped and the loch became a huge mirror.  It is a moment I don't ever want to forget.

Sometimes I do get to places just when God's ready to have somebody click the shutter.   - Ansel Adams

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.