Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

First Buds

Dear Diary,

Things are beginning to come to life around here.  I'm seeing the sprouts of daffodils I planted in the fall and trees are showing signs of the first buds.  I like to photograph along the Saco River, not far from my house.  This river cuts through flat farm lands.  Soon, my favorite farm stands will open but for now it is just the silvery surface of the slow moving water that holds my attention.

There still isn't a lot of color in my neck of the woods but this symphony of silver with the tiny dots of red was quite lovely.  After the long hard winter we've had here in Maine it is easy to fall into the trap of looking ahead to the lush greens and sweet smells of spring but then we would miss out on this in-between time which has a subtle beauty of its own.  This is a threshold time, where we can stand with one foot in each season and thresholds have a power and importance  of their own.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.