Trudieva

By TrudievA

Blue Bell Fun Run, 5k

I made it!
On January 1 of this year, I shared that I signed up for my first 5k run. It was not really a new year's resolution, but I wanted to get back to running and figured the easiest way to do this was to sign up for a 5k.
If all had gone according to my plans, I would have been able to run this 5k. Unfortunately the weather has been crazy here in Houston and since I'm not a morning person anyway, it was not my preference to run in the rain or in extreme cold weather (I consider anything below 5C extreme cold). Evenings were too dark to run safely, then mornings were too dark to run safely, it was too cold, too hot, too humid, and too windy. 
But, there actually were mornings where I kicked myself out of bed to go for a run. I did not finish my 27 lessons with Evy "from couch to 5k" podcasts, but I made it to lesson 21.

So this morning was the actual run. We had to get up at 4.45am and were in the car at 5.20am. Not so great for a non-morning person, but Brenham is an hour and 15 minutes drive from our house and we wanted to be on time to be able to park in the nearest parking lot. Weather predictions said there was a chance of rain and thunderstorms, so it would be nice to have the car at a short distance.

The 5k started at 8.45am and the temperature was great (about 16/17C), although it was still a little foggy. I was not able to run the complete 5k, but with some 1-2 minute walking breaks, I was still able to finish the race just under 35 minutes. I even broke my pr for the 2 miles, 1 mile and the 1k, so I was happy.
Afterwards I had 5 ice-creams, because Blue Bell is sponsoring this run with free ice-cream after the race. 

This is not a picture I took, but it was taken today and I asked husband if I could use it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.