The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Dark Marbled Carpet Moth

The power of twitter!

I have spent the day working on the business today, which is fantastic for garden watching.

An update on the coming and goings. The Reed Buntings seem to have left, no sight of them this week. They have stuck around a five weeks longer than last year, but we did have an earlier warm period last year, I suspect the cold snap encouraged them to stick with my feeding tables.

I had the Carrion Crow in the garden a few times today, which the first time I have seen him in a fortnight.

The garden is now teaming with insect life, and I got a fantastic views of a House Sparrow catching a Daddy Long Legs right outside the patio doors. I tried to get a picture of a Soldier Beetle, but it flew off as I went to take the shot. But then I stumbled upon this moth on the wall. I had no idea what species it was so I put the picture on twitter to get it ID'd. Sure enough someone came up trumps. I gave it a good go with my ID book, and had it narrowed down to the genus, but couldn't get the species. All part of the learning curve!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.