William Latham's Mutator 2

It almost felt like an August day in Edinburgh for us today. While K took E and R to the zoo, Mr hazelh and I met K and J for an afternoon of art exhibitions and an evening show - in the rain.

The first exhibition was the 2014 BP Portrait Award at the National Portrait Gallery, which I enjoyed very much. Then we headed up to Summerhall to see a couple of exhibitions that form part of the Edinburgh International Science Festival. Our favourite was William Latham's Mutator 2. Here we generated projections of organic art forms. These evolved and bred on screen according to how we interacted with them online. My blip is of one of 'my' favourite creations of the afternoon.

After a marvellous supper at Tanjore (thanks to ArcLight and Ridgeback13 for introducing us to this restaurant last year) we wandered back to Summerhall for a panel discussion entitled Music on the brain. Three of the four speakers were excellent and I could have easily listened to them for longer than the one and half hour slot had it not been an evening session that unexpectedly went on way beyond my bed time. I particularly enjoyed Professor Trevor Cox's talk on how hard it was for him to give up music for Lent - both in terms of the difficulties of avoiding music in everyday life, and how he missed it - and I plan to listen to the full Radio 4 programme on the topic, which is still available on the BBC iPlayer.

Exercise today: lots of walking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.