No Wee Elf

I went out quite early this morning, wearing my kneepads, intent on shooting macro. I'm glad I took the 400mm with me as I heard an unusual, conversational sounding, birdsong. It took me a while to spot the singer near the top of an ash tree. Too high for a decent shot but a record for me to check my hunch that it was a female linnet. Lovely little birds, I've never managed a decent shot of one. This one was being tossed back and forth by the strong wind and having its feathers ruffled.

Not a good day for macro. I shot this little toadstool early when there was still a bit of dew on the grass. The purple ground ivy has just come into bloom behind it. The bees will be pleased.

I used to grow the variegated form of Glechoma to sell as a hanging basket plant. What a nightmare that was. It roots along its creeping stems and it was a race to sell it before all the containers became matted together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.