Mrs Blackbird Brings Worms For Tea

It has been dull all day and I struggled to find something to photograph.

The sun finally appeared in the late afternoon. I spotted my male grey wagtail with a beak full of insects, so it looks like the pair have a brood somewhere on my property.

I decided to wait by where I know a pair of blackbirds have a nest in a disused glasshouse. It is not far from my long-tailed-tits' abode. The tits are quite fearless and were back and forth. Blackbirds are shyer. I could hear the male nearby saying, "Took, took, took." He wasn't sure whether it was safe to visit his nest with me in the vicinity.

Eventually the female appeared with some juicy worms and warily approached the nest site, catching the afternoon sun as she did so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.