Naked Landscape

This fairly ordinary photograph of a field and tree is significant for what is NOT there!  Had I taken this shot a few weeks ago you would see hedgerows and horses or maybe sheep.  If you look closely in the distance you will see the vehicle of men wielding chainsaws as they decimate the landscape in the name of progress.

This is an area on the edge of Aylesbury set for development of housing.  We did know this was set to happen, although Bierton has fought long and hard to stop it - but the actual reality I find upsetting.  I don't mind houses but why can't the hedgerows be left for wildlife?  A huge amount of habitat for birds, foxes, rabbits and other creatures is now gone for ever.  I think a few of the trees will be left standing and I noticed that there are some areas planted with new saplings but I still find it a shock when I drive that road.  I find myself avoiding that route!

Now I must set off to damage the environment a bit more as I head for Luton Airport and Spain!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.