Farewell to Stromness

This is the main street in Stromness. Just as it is. Could almost have been taken in 1860, when those flagstones were laid. (The cobbles in the middle were to stop horses slipping).
I had the use of the car until noon, so I whizzed up to the Broch of Gunness (on the east coast) and across to Yesnaby (on the west). Both were spectacular in their own ways; I took photos but none do them justice. You have to be there to feel the wind in your hair! At Yesnaby, it was hard to stay upright..
Thankfully, the sea had calmed down by this afternoon, as a light rain came in, so the ferry journey was uneventful. I'm now in the Ferry Inn at Scrabster and have a great view of the harbour from my room - fishing boats, ferries, container ships and eider ducks all coming and going. I'm looking forward to a good night's sleep before a day of travelling home tomorrow :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.