Backstone Valley

A bright morning gave me the resolve to cycle into work for the first time in a very long while. The day flashed by in the usual blur before I enjoyed a very pleasant cycle back over the moor in warm early evening sunshine. I got passed by a couple of other riders on the way, quite an unusual occurrence for I usually ride quick enough to seldom ever get overtaken. I'm guessing it's going to happen more and more often in the future - and that's fine. That was actually a bit of a revelation. For sure, I want to continue being as fit as possible, but I realised that I no longer feel the need to be super-fit. I'm not feeling the desire to put in hundreds of miles of training any more, nor to try to stay competitive with guys half my age. I just want to be fit enough to carry on enjoying what I love doing.

On getting home I was soon out again for a walk on the moor. It was too beautiful an evening to miss. It stayed light so late that I didn't get back until almost 9pm. I started out in a T-shirt but I had a few more layers on by the time I returned home! 

My question yesterday wasn't too serious. I will always be a natural introvert, but certainly a more outgoing and social one.

Finally, thanks for all the wonderful comments on my other journal. This is your project as much as mine. I doubt I'd be still posting without your support. Cheers everyone. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.