Hangingstone Edge

From when I was really quite young I've had high expectations placed upon me, perhaps because I've always had high expectations of myself. And I've always pretty much delivered, usually beyond what was expected of me. I've never expected any great praise or gratitude in return, and never really received very much - because it's what's naturally expected of me. It's who I am. That's never been a problem. My own self-satisfaction, when I feel it, is enough. However, for the first time in my life really, I'm struggling to deliver right now. And that's proving to be a problem when everyone around me just takes it for granted that I simply will deliver, if not today then tomorrow. But what if I don't?

Feeling a bit flat today, somewhat overwhelmed by the burden of responsibility and the current workload. Spirits were lifted for a short while with a run on the moor after work, under wonderfully dramatic skies. Despite yesterday's multiple exertions the legs felt friskier than they have in a long time. For your information, this shot was taken very close to where yesterday's was taken from, but looking in the opposite direction.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.