Rock Balancing

Whenever I have things to think about I like to walk or run up to the cairn here and just sit for a while looking at the view across the town. It's a place to get some perspective. I must have paid close to a thousand visits by now. I even came up here on crutches with a broken knee!

Today, though, I was in need of more than just soaking up the beauty of Wharfedale. I've had to deal with bad news on the business front and some other stuff which has been very disturbing. The latter has confirmed once and for all that truth can indeed be stranger than fiction. It's been surreal. There is no other word for it. I found some distraction in a bit of rock balancing. I noticed last night that there had been some rock sculptures created so tonight I decided to add my own. Mine is the one on the left. It was rather precarious and proved to be quite ephemeral. The gentle breeze dislodged the top few stones soon after I took the photograph. That seemed quite apt in the context of the day.

Once again, I have to offer a collective thank you for all your wisdom and best wishes. I really appreciate it. You guys offer a pretty good perspective too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.