Incredibish

By Incredibish

Court Gardens

Today was a little less uneventful than I might normally choose, albeit not in any significant manner. Happy_Janwen and I decided to visit The Courts Garden, in Holt south of Bath. It's a National Trust site and, although it's relatively close, we'd not been before. Picnic was prepared, flasks were filled. Holt is close enough for a gentle bike ride on a nice day, but we were no further than Sodding Chipbury when I realised Morrigan was losing a little coolant.

Not wishing to damage the lump I was sitting on top of, I made the executive decision to return and swap to four wheels. We arrived at Holt no more than an hour delayed, to discover we (by which we mean I) had left the picnic behind on the kitchen worktop... I'd spent ages making those sandwiches; hard boiling the eggs form the girls out front, picking the lettuce from the veg beds... bah, and probably bugrit! 

So lunch was paid for. Oh, horrors! The garden was utterly divine and well worth a number of visits throughout the year, as there's clearly a lot going on all the time. I felt sure my blip was going to be the drift of Snake Head Fritillaries that lay nestled in the grass, but this is a picture of an unidentified (by me at least - I'm no Monty Don) shrub. The colours were startling, and reminded me of rhubarb and custard (anyone now have the theme tune earmarking them? Good.)

And now to the garage, to see if I can understand anything about modern motorcycle engine cooling systems...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.