Capturing my Journey

By thedoglady

Duke View

Looking out to sea from a hill on the farm where we manage the livestock is my husbands main dog Duke who is son of Moss. Went with husband this afternoon to do the checks on this farm since it was nice and sunny.

Took my dogs for a longer dog walk this morning, those that don't do the lambing rounds are getting a little bored and over excited so felt I had better take them on a longer walk.(last thing I need is more walking but the dogs come first!!)

Quite a lot of new lambs this morning including some more pure shetlands who are incredibly cute. Had to lamb a ewe this evening who was I felt pushing too hard and not producing much. The lamb had a leg back and the ewes pelvis was quite tight. I got my hand in to try and pull out the other leg and she had a contraction and crushed my hand so I couldn't get the other leg forward so just had to lamb her with it back. She was very good about me being there and began caring for her lamb. Quite often when the dog has caught the ewe they can be a in a bit of a hurry to leave even when their new baby is right in front of them.

Its been a long day of it again and just getting around to dinner at 8pm(defrosted beef stew from my frozen stock pile!!).

12c no wind slightly overcast in the morning then sunshine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.