RANUNCULUS REPENS

.....commonly known as creeping buttercup - to some a beautiful flower and to others a weed.

The banks outside our house are covered with these creeping buttercups as well as thousands of dandelions.  I don't usually pick wild flowers - although some would call these weeds - but when I got off the bus yesterday, I thought they might make a good blip, but of course, I already had yesterday's planned!

I knew that if I didn't pick them, then the Council Grass Cutter would be along very soon and they would be cut down and dead.  In fact, even as I speak, I can hear the grass being cut, so at least I have given these beautiful, cheery little flowers a longer life than they would have had.

They will sit on my kitchen windowsill until they die and I will enjoy their spring-like colour and beauty.

According to Wikipedia, this beautiful little plant is described as:

"A herbaceous, stoloniferous perennial plant".

I then looked up "stoloniferous" which means that it has creeping horizontal plant stems or runners that take root at points along its length to form new plants.

Well, along with thousands of others, Mr. HCB can vouch for that - having many of these in our lawn, which he digs up whenever he has time.  Apparently, they used to be sold as ornamental plants, but have now become an invasive species and apparently are poisonous if eaten.

How many of us, when younger, have picked one of these and put it under someone's chin to see if it reflects the light, so confirming that that person likes butter?  

Enjoy this song song and I hope it cheers your day!

“A weed is but 
     an unloved flower.” 
Ella Wheeler Wilcox

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.