OUT OF BALANCE?

A good morning at church - my first time of being there since Easter Sunday.  A group had been to Spring Harvest just after Easter so it was good to hear from them how the week had impacted on them, not only whilst they were there but also now that they were back home. 

It was also a little sad in that it was the last Sunday at Lawn for Sue, one of our friends, who lives in a different part of the town, and who believes God is calling her to worship in her community.  We will all miss her but I will miss her playing the violin as it always touches my heart and often makes me cry! 

As Christians, we need to be listening for God's voice and I have felt this more over the last few weeks - wondering what He is saying to me through this enforced period of rest in my life. Does He want me to slow down?  Should I be spending more time listening and less time doing?  Do I pray enough?  Do I read my Bible as often as I should?  Am I as aware of His presence as I should be?

We all need to find a balance in our lives - and when I saw Roly walk in after the service with a tray full of Cup Cakes, and read the slogan on his tee shirt, it struck me that very often we are out of balance and perhaps at those times, God chooses to teach us what we can do to put that right.  I guess the question then is - are we willing to be taught that lesson?

This week, while Mr. HCB is away at cricket for three days, I am going to try and answer some of those questions - I may not find all the answers or it may take me sometime, but I'm sure it will be an interesting exercise.  Please be patient with me - and thank you all once again for your kind comments, stars and hearts, which are much appreciated.

God whispers to us in our pleasures, 
     speaks in our conscience, 
          but shouts in our pain: 
it is His megaphone 
     to rouse a deaf world.”
C.S. Lewis
The Problem of Pain

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.