MONO MONDAY - THE ENVIRONMENT

Today is a very important day for Mr. HCB and his cricketing friend, Keith, standing on his left, as it is the first day of the cricket season - the four day game actually started yesterday, but because both of them are involved in church, today is their first day.

It is also an exciting day for both of them, as Keith’s son, Graham, standing on Mr. HCB's right, is over from America for a couple of weeks and he is going with them, in fact he is driving - so instead of languishing in bed, I got up and asked them to pose for my Blip today, which they happily did.  

The theme for Mono Monday is “The Environment”, one definition for which is: “the setting or conditions in which a particular activity is carried on”.  

I think it is fair to say that there will be a lot of activity down at The Brightside Ground in Bristol today as Gloucestershire Cricket Club play Derbyshire.  I’m sure there will be many friendships renewed, much chatting done, copious amounts of tea and coffee drunk and who knows, perhaps the occasional ice cream eaten, although at the moment, it is rather grey and dull - not quite ice cream weather - but hey, this is England, and the game and the traditions go on!

Of course, I am now officially relegated to Number 3 in Mr. HCB’s life, with cricket being Number 1 and the garden Number 2 - but I can cope with that - as long as he is happy, I am happy - and I think his smile says it all!

Cricket and life are alike,
     every ball equals every minute,
          every short equals an opportunity,
               and every wicket is an obstacle.
Rathakrishna Jeyabalasingam

P.S.  Following my appointment with my GP last week, I rang the surgery today and spoke to the Practice Manager, who was very apologetic and understanding.  I said I don't want to make a mountain out of a molehill, I just wanted to ensure that others weren't treated in the same way.  He said he understood and will address this at their next meeting on Wednesday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.