Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Little Lammies

I left for work last night with Helga in labour. W. agreed that I come back home as I was concerned, after last years problems, that she might need assistance.  It was a long night, thankfully I wasn't needed this time and at 5am the first little hooves were there, followed swiftly by the rest of the first lamb.  The other lamb followed almost before the first was licked dry.  Relief... two healthy little girls.  

What a day to come into the world!  A little more wind than I like but, in the shelter of the grasses, the lambs won't feel it.  They are now sunbathing in brilliant sunshine with Mum watching over.  

Dad, aka Rocky the Ram, on the other hand has worried me a little this morning.  He's a pet lamb, attention seeking and behaving badly.  He didn't like to see my neighbours talking to me and cooing over the new arrivals.  He sniffed them at first, then bowled a lamb over then the other and...  Thankfully not too roughly but enough to make me believe I might have to take him from the paddock.  I suggested we all leave and I continued to observe from a window, out of sight.  It did the trick and with no audience Rocky has settled down and hasn't attempted to harm the lambs again. I've warned my neighbour that the girls shouldn't go into the paddock without my being present at the moment.  I know it will pass but I don't relish the thought of an 8 year old being knocked for six. 

So that is the excitement and here are the lambs.  The other ewe lamb may well be pregnant but there is nothing showing at the moment and she is still very young so it would be for the best if she weren't.  

Rocky was born a year ago yesterday, and now is a father... sheep mature so quickly.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.