Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Rocky

Rocky has grown into a real ram now and is sporting his new beard, grown in time for Christmas. 

He's attending to the ladies and all I can do is hope that he's fertile and that there will be some lambs in the spring.  Herdwick are the slowest breed to mature and Rocky had the added drawback when he was orphaned. I did see him mounting the gimmer (a young ewe that hasn't given birth)  this morning so I do know he's got it in him.   He'd have a good pair of horns now, if he hadn't pulled them off a couple of times each by sticking his head through the fence and hooking them on the way back.  Loads of blood but it, fortunately,  doesn't stop them from regrowing.  He bears little semblance to the little black lamb a I photographed at seven weeks old!  His metamorphosis is almost complete although his coat will lighten further with age. 

This wasn't going to be my blip.  I was to go to see the Boxing Day Hunt leave but indulged in Downton Abbey which I'd recorded.  When it finished, I didn't think it would go on so long,  I realised it was too late to get to Ockely in time.  Damn! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.