Boys will be Boys

The light was going fast when I spotted the mist rising in the distance. by the time I got into the park I had very little time to get a decent shot. I'd just set up the camera when these boys appeared. They were running full pelt and gave all the signs that they were up to something. I caught this shot as they leaped over the stile at the end of the bridge and disappeared into the bushes along the river side. They either didn't see me or ignored my presence.

I heard giggling so walked along a little to see what they were up to. The little toe rags had found the old boat that is used for river maintenance and they were having a ball! I hated to ruin their game but gently asked if they had permission to use it and suggested they put it back where they found it before someone caught them with it. They'd found it and thinking that it was abandoned, had spent a long time bailing out the water and cleaning it inside and out. They'd even found some oars and were really ready for adventure. Unfortunately there is a weir very close to where they were playing. Although the stream isn't deep, with all the rain the water is running very fast. I couldn't not warn them of the danger but I won't be telling the estate boys who the Christmas elves were. The boat has never looked better. :)

Not a hint of a breeze at the moment but I'd better go and tie the chickens down again as this is the calm before the next storm. It's terrible to see how much damage there is locally and the thought of the rivers rising further is heartbreaking. I know people that are still without electricity since Christmas Eve and have already suffered significant water damage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.