The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Here Be Dragons ... RHS Cardiff

A recurring theme it seems .. my second dragon photo of late!

Where the dragon linked above was very real, this one is not!

What it is is a fantastic work of art.

We have been to the RHS Show in Cardiff today. We were there by invite from our lovely friends at RSPB Cymru to help launch the Homes For Nature - Cardiff initiative.

I have been rather preoccupied with the business of late to do any blogging for RSPB Cymru, but that doesn't mean I am not keeping an eye on their campaigns of supporting where I can.

Thanks to the Welsh governments carrier bag levy, the 5p from Tesco carrier bags helped deliver a programme to put muddy knees back on the school curriculum. RSPB Cymru have been going out and getting kids involved in giving all forms of wildlife a home. The more diversity you can create at the bottom of the food chain, the better the birds and those at the top can survive.

It's a fantastic initiative it must be said. It was great seeing how Cardiff Council had backed this plan to the hilt and is putting proper messy green spaces back into the city, instead of sterile grassed and neat ones. RSPB President Miranda Krestonikoff gave a wonderfully enthusiastic speech about the joys of immersing yourself in nature when you are young. Something I now know I did when mum used to chuck me and my brother up the allotment with dad!

We had an afternoons wandering around the show. I managed to keep my hands in my pocket by and large, only scoffing a rather nice pork and black pudding sausage roll, and a rocky road cake.

We met up with Dr Rhys Jones for a coffee and a natter and managed to catch RSPB Cymru's Carolyn's talk on attracting garden birds .. I managed to ID the Robin that got thrown at me (I wasn't sure if this was for being class swot!).

All in all a rather enjoyable afternoon and evening in Bute Park!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.