The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Spoonbill - Still Being Mobbed

Family day here in Lincolnshire today. We went over to the Sister In Laws to help babysit Alex & William. The weather forecasters had got it spot on. It was a cold and gloomy for most of the day.

We decided, late afternoon, to pop back down to Frampton for an hour, as the light was improving. It wasn't the greatest when we got there, but at least it was brighter.

The Spoonbill from yesterdays blip was still there, and the poor thing was still getting grief off the Black-Headed Gulls.

I make no apologies for using the same kind of photo two days running, but it was a wonderful bit of behaviour to witness, and photograph over the past two days. The Black-Headed Gulls would mob it for a few minutes and then leave it alone. The Spoonbill would make a lot of noise and flap its sizeable wings and carry on unperturbed. We watched the gulls give a Cormorant some grief too.

Yesterday, whilst at Frampton I needed a hat to keep the sun from burning my head ...today I needed my woolly hat to keep me warm! You got to love the British weather.

Rejected blips tonight ..

Another Avocet sifting for food.

The said Cormorant in flight.

Black Tailed Godwit

Debatable Golden Plover (not got my Collins with me .. so my ID is best hope/ guess).

All the others can be found in this Flickr set .... or albums as they have been renamed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.