The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Wheatear - Freiston Shore

For once I was torn between what to use for a blip tonight.

I wasn't sure whether to continue the nature theme or go with some Speedway.

It's been another busy day up here in Lincolnshire. We went around to see family this morning, and then I wandered down to Freiston for an hour and a half in the afternoon. It was packed down there. The lagoon trail was mobbed with kids and dog walkers, so I went for a wander around the salt marshes for a change (and to escape the maddening crowds). I was on a mission to find a Corn Bunting, and I knew they were down at the meadow there. Well I managed to find them, but alas not photograph them. What I did get as a bonus was a lovely fifteen minutes with this wonderful Wheatear. I was beginning to think they were going to pass through before I saw them again.

I also got the mandatory Meadow Pipit on a post photo!

I then had to yomp back to the house and it was straight back out to the East of England showground for Speedway, and the Peterborough Panthers v Ipswich Witches. It was thoroughly entertaining evening, and we met up with a few twitter friends, so it was good to catch up! So we nearly had a speedway blip tonight, but I've been waiting far too long to get a Wheatear shot!

The Speedway shots are in this Flickr Album.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.