The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Spoonbill - Mobbed By Black-Headed Gulls

What a glorious day I have had at Frampton Marsh. The sky was horizon to horizon blue. It was a little bit chilly with an easterly blowing in off the North Sea, but that did make for some good birding.

I met up briefly with Chris Jones, who is the RSPB Engagement Officer there. By pure chance a Spoonbill had arrived on the reserve that morning. It was just about in range of my 500mm lens too. Even more incredibly it was actually doing something other than sleeping! I managed to reel off a few photos, before it started getting mobbed by Black-Headed Gulls which eventually made it fly off.

I put a couple more up on Flickr which could have been my blips.

Spoonbill #1

Spoonbill #2

There were also a number of Avocets feeding in front of the 360 Hide. Which would have been my blip if the Spoonbill hadn't been so exciting.

I've done a little bit of filming for you too ... wobble-vision as normal!

Avocet Feeding

Spoonbill Feeding

I took my year list to 96, which considering I am not in double figures for birding days yet this year I am quite pleased with.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.