Goodbye Mr Moth

Two days ago one of my remaining Puss Moth pupae from the caterpillars I raised in 2013 hatched. It was a bit of a surprise as I had expected them to hatch last summer, and when only 2 did I left them, hopeful they would hatch this year...it seems my patience might be rewarded!
This one is a beautiful male with wonderful feathery antennae, and very lively and ready to be released.
As you can see Rosie was more than willing to help me, she has absolutely no fear of these large moths at all, and was talking to him all the time in a soft  soothing little voice. 
This shot is as he walked up her arm whirring his wings wildly to warm up ready for his maiden flight.
I hope he is enjoying his freedom, I certainly enjoyed raising him!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.