Sharing

late in the afternoon I went out to take some pictures of the beautiful local country lanes that exist around Horsham where I live. 
After meandering about for an hour or so, stopping here and there to admire the frothing masses of lady's smock and patrolling Orange tips, I found myself at the car park of Southwater country park.
I was so upset to see they had taken yet more lovely grassland for car park!!! such a shame :-( As I walked round the existing car park thinking encouraging more badly behaved drunken beings in to destroy the beautiful wildlife was a bad idea I noticed this pair basking on a leaf soaking up the remaining sunshine.
The fly is a Drone fly Eristalis tenax, a very common species, and the bee is probably Andrena spp.
I did think they looked funny, like a couple of old friends having a chat!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.