Running On Empty

I've arrived back home after a short break in Tekapo shooting the night sky, but on my way decided to drive past Lake Opuaha to see what was happening. As you can see, not much...

The drought has still not been broken for this lake; last year, where I stood to take this image was underwater. Not so now - skeleton willows betray the lack of moisture, the cracks underfoot signs of a land that is parched.

Lake Opuaha is an important irrigation resource - as well as producing small amounts of hydro-electricity - and it's lack of water are clear to see in the surrounding rural area; lack of stock in the fields, lack of feed in the pastures.

Here's hoping that we don't have a cold winter, for the farmers' (and their stock's)  sake. 

Thanks for the lovely comments for my Irishman Creek star shot last night. Being away meant responding to comments has been difficult, but I'll try to clear the backlog soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.