Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Have Map will Travel

The forecast was looking good, so I got my map and compass out and took on the adventure of finding a new walk in the Brecon Beacons.  It was an early start and got to Storey Arms just before 7am, there was hardly anyone around, and then set off down the Roman Road.  Except is it a Roman Road?  Bit of controversy there!

From there I headed across the valley towards Craig Cerrig Gleisiad Nature Reserve, which if you’ve never seen is quite impressive from a geological point of view.  It’s also great if you love nature as there are apparently over 500 plants recorded there, over 80 different bird species and also 16 species of butterflies.  I didn’t stop to view though and headed through the reserve towards Brecon, a sharp turning left then into the next valley.

I then needed to head back towards Fan Frynych, so climbed the Black Valley so named, or so it seems to me, for the deep black cliffs.  Apparently Lorna Doone was shot there as well, although there isn’t much evidence left.  I must say it felt quite eerie walking up there, or maybe that was the wind that caused it.  Lol!

A steep climb from the valley to the ridge and then towards the trig point on Fan Frynych.  I stopped here for a bite to eat and some tea.  Glorious views across the park, and no one within miles of me.  The wind was up but the trig point buffeted me from the worst of it.

I set off back to Storey Arms then along the ridge of Craig y Fro, and this was when you realised how strong the wind was.  A couple of areas I just had to be extra careful but it was fun though.

Arrived back at Storey Arms to see the car parks over flowing and herds of people tramping up towards Pen Y Fan.  That was one of the reasons I did what I did today, I don’t enjoy the crowds on a mountain, I prefer the peace and quiet.  I didn’t see a soul all day and it was bliss.  Already planning more uncharted expeditions or new routes to places I’ve already been, next week it will be the waterfalls.  I want to maximise my time in the mountains whilst the weather is good and we have long nights.

BACK BLIPS:

Wednesday - Long Quality Day

Thursday - The Curious Incident of a Night at the Theatre

Friday - Longing

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.