Mum and Dad

Not very cheerful but it is a journal after all, so you should get not so good days too. 
This is my Mum and Dad's grave. You can see by the dates why I really dislike the three days from 19th to 21st April. 
I will admit that it wasn't a good time for us - but you have to look on the bright side otherwise it would do your head in really. How wonderful for them that after almost 64 years of marriage that they were only apart for a matter of about 40 hours, and neither had suffered from long illnesses.
While we were at the cemetery we also visited (as we always do) my maternal Granny and Granddad, as well as Great Granny and Granddad and Great Great Granny and Granddad. The oldest of all of these was Great Great Granny, born in 1819 and died in 1892.  I bet she didn't imagine that her relatives would still be planting flowers for her almost 200 years after she was born. There are very few graves in the "old part" of the cemetery at Stratford that are still tended, but I'm glad to say that our ancestors' plots are still looked after. We can't not really, can we, when we have to walk past them when we visit? 
Talking of granddads, we shall be in London next Saturday for the ceremony at the Cenotaph in Whitehall to mark the centenary of the Gallipoli Campaign. Descendants of those who fought in Gallipoli were invited to apply to take part, and as my Granddad was there, I am one of those who will be at the ceremony. Her Maj  will be there too, along with lots more dignitaries.  You'll know me - I will be the one that the Queen is waving to.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.