Memory Lane

There was so much more in the day than I expected today. 

After taking CJ for a walk and packing up the van, I met up with a good friend for lunch in Saltaire. It's always a pleasure to meet up. We went to a place that's new to us, Masserella's. Apparently, the owner is part of the famous Doncaster ice cream family. Growing up in Doncaster, I'd never heard of them but sure enough, they do exist! The coffee shop and owner were both lovely which added to the outing and we enjoyed looking at the art and photography on the wall. This was the first memory lane of the day as the only other time I have been in here must be about 15 years ago for an art event by onedavid where we bought his painting of Derwentwater that still sits over the fireplace.

James was very good and took half of his cake home. I ate mine in the gluttonous knowledge that it would not be getting burnt off today either!

Home and pretty much straight back out with Little Dog, heading for The Lakes in the van. I'd plumped for Borrowdale as I had found a campsite which I didn't know existed in Seathwaite. With plenty of daylight still to come, I decided to meander through the middle of The Lakes. The views were stunning and clarity amazing, well worth the extra time.

Memory Lane then kicked in big time. Firstly, heading into Keswick past the cinema where one cold, damp camping night, I asked Rich if anyone would notice if we stayed here for the night. Past George Fisher's where many a wet hour had been spent and then on down Borrowdale. 

This took me back to university where I met Rich. A group of us hired the university van and drove down this very road. Rich and Juliet took it in turns to drive. Juliet's turn and Rich was getting very edgy about Juliet narrowly missing the sharp kerbstones. In Juliet's loud Caymen Island drawl, she told Rich to, "Stop Worrying!" 

Bang! 

We had fun controlling the traffic on that road while Rich duly and quietly changed the wheel. 

I passed Shepherd's Crag where we'd had many a climbing outing and I'd once led one of my very few VS climbs and where the late Ray McHaffie, rock climber and footpath builder, had led another route in roller boots and boxing gloves!  We used to watch his slide shows religiously when we visited Keswick, nearly knowing them as well as he did.

Next, past the Borrowdale Hotel, the first part of our honeymoon and cream teas were had on the lawn most days after our outings. We must have been the scuffiest people there, but that amused us!

Onto the Bowder Stone where we'd held hands underneath it and on another occasion stayed at the Bowder Stone Hut where we'd done my one and only night climbing adventure.

On past the Scafell Hotel and Leeds Climbing Club Christmas Dos where I won an award for something but can't for the life of me remember what it was - probably for always being last up and first out.

Then, finally, heading down into the Seathwaite valley. A fun scramble up Sour Milk Gill, plenty of stops in the cafe and Andy's new car that lost its wing mirror due to a cow getting wedged overnight between his and someone else's at the K Shoes hut. The Wall-E like wires hanging off were terribly funny but we weren't allowed to laugh at anything except the cow pat on the front of John's bonnet where it had clearly had a panic attack trying to extricate itself.

And then back to today. 

I met the farmer who was absolutely lovely and he was quite interested in Little Dog. He saw my camera and suggested I headed up to Seathwaite Fell for views down Derwentwater as the sun was setting. Well, I was only planning to have a little pootle up Sour Milk Gill but how could I resist the suggestion? 

Now 7.15pm and not having had tea, I dashed back for the map, stuffed a Nakd bar down me and headed off at a pace. The dry gill he'd pointed out started getting steep and slimy so we didn't quite reach the top but got high enough to see the edge of Derwentwater and enjoy the pinkening sky before heading down for dinner sorting out for tomorrow and now, bed.

I burnt off the cake!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.