Big day

I left the van just before 7.30 this morning. I walked up in the same direction as last night but felt like I had jet lag... Not used to early starts!

I could have slept in a ball half way up Seathwaite Fell but kept going and by the time we'd reached Sprinkling Tarn I had properly woken up and was feeling energised. 

Esk Hause had beautiful views in all directions and now knowing much of the Lakes quite well, it was fabulous looking round and taking in all the different tops.

I headed round to Great End. But, thinking if I did that and then Glaramara, I'd be back in the valley by 10.30, we continued past the turn off and headed for Scafell Pike instead. Heading off Broad Crag, I heard an unusual loud bird call and spotted a ring ouzel on the edge of the rocks. I can't remember the last time I saw one so that was lovely. 

Slow and steady, and we were on top with fine views and clarity all around.  Little Dog is proudly having her photo taken on the Scafell Pike summit cairn with Great Gable in the background - you can even pick out Napes Needle and Needle Ridge. 

I wondered how my legs might feel heading back but I think cycling has toughened them up somewhat so Great End was next where I met a pleasant chap walking the Wainrights. He'd been out since Monday and was finishing tomorrow.  I had a bagel and banana on top and shared a bit of the latter with Little Dog (fear not, she also had a pocket full of her own food!) I also met a fellow who normally walked with his friends but was really enjoying the solitude of a slow walk up from the Langdales. I could relate to that of course.

By the time we got back to Esk Hause, a regular stream of people were on their way up so I swapped a few hellos before finding quiet again heading over Allen Crags and then on to Glaramara.

It was lovely meandering across the tops, taking photos and letting little dog sniff along the way for a change. I think we both enjoyed it equally.

After a tricky little descent off Glaramara with a dog attached to your rucksack, we sunbathed in the shelter of a crag from the cool breeze and soaked up the views and the sun for a good while. 

I nearly overshot the runway home but realised in time and backtracked just a little way to descend down Hind Gill and back to the van. 

Little Dog can't shut her eyes tight enough and I'm beginning to feel the same after my dinner too so not sure how long I'll last before lights out. Gluten free means I'm not ready to sleep at 6.30pm any more but I shall seriously enjoy relaxing until I am.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.