Great Gable and Green Gable

Well, thinking I’d be awake late, I turned the lights off at 7.30 last night, had dozed by 8.30 and must have been properly asleep by 9.30 with owls hooting in the distance.

With all that sleep, I awoke at 6.30 naturally and was back out again with pure blue sky at 7.30am.  

We headed up Sour Milk Gill and found ice on the path in the hanging valley.  Up onto Green Gable, we sat for some time until we were joined by a fellow walker who stopped for a little chat.  More people were on their way up by the time we got onto Great Gable and we simple meandered our way down, stopping for a whole hour as we approached the head of the valley, simply not wanting the day to be over.

This photo is looking from Green Gable towards Ennerdale and Buttermere. I think I've looked into most of the main valleys of the Lakes this weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.