Surprised

I had a few surprises today.  From the little owl on the roof to the first sounds of a cuckoo and spotting warblers singing in the bushes.  

On hearing the cuckoo, I decided to head up on to the moors where I'd seen him before.  I was noticing the loud crunching of the crisp bracken, thinking I wasn't being very surreptitious when ahead, out of a tumbledown part of the stone wall, flew another little owl.  Above us, on the rocks, was a kestrel and it seemed to spook a blackbird... or was it?

I thought I caught a glimpse of white around its neck as it flew across but it was too hard to see on my camera as it was blurred.  So we sat and watched.

And we saw!

Made my day completely.  Two ring ouzels dotting around on the slopes of the moors.

On the way down, when I managed to drag myself away, I met Kay with Poppy dog and we stopped to have a chat in the sunshine.

Rich has come back from his first triathlon (a sprint one) so that encouraged me to put a bit of effort in on my bike... 1:40:48

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.