pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Work...and play?

The bus arrived today! Hooray!

I managed to then catch the 8 o'clock park & ride which got me into the office at 8.25....shaving a full 2 minutes off my quickest door to door time so far!

Work is busy. It is payroll, new PI stuff, and I am not much help at the moment, although I did take my first couple of phone calls today - one being a new death. So pretty straight forward stuff for me.  Feeling at home with the system now too - I have only been away from local government pensions for 8 months, so I'm glad not everything has been deleted from my brain, it is getting more familiar each day! 

Heard some bad news from a member of my old team who secured re-employment with in Cambridge CC. She has been told today their jobs are on the line. Guess where the work is moving to? Northampton - where else. So the 'take over' continues. Shame on Cambridgeshire County Council for throwing away so many skilled staff.

Henry is a star. He got his school bus home, and 'checked in' with me by text as we have agreed, so that I knew he was firstly on the bus, and secondly safely home. He then texted to say he was going out for a run....as he still had his pe kit on! (something he normally does with Jon) He told me later that he ran 2 miles!

I got home at 5.30, thinking on the way home what a lovely evening it was - too good to waste in front of the telly. By 7.15 we were on the far side of Cromer, walking along the promenade, down to the beach, up again, and taking lots of sun set photos. We both really enjoyed it and were still home by 8.30. Who else gets to go down the beach on a school night?!

I know we are going to enjoy living here. Lots.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.