The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Return To The Forbidden Planet

I've been looking forward to this evening for quite a while.

I bought tickets for the theatre for mum and dad for their respective birthdays. We went to see Return To The Forbidden Planet, which if you haven't seen it, you haven't lived!

It is based around Shakespeare's The Tempest and the cult classic sci-fi film The Forbidden Planet. The whole thing is glued together with loads of classic rock n roll from the sixties and seventies.

I have seen the show four times now, and I have to be honest this was the best version I have seen.

The highlight of the show is always the guitar solo in The Zombies - She's Not There as is performed by the ships chef "Cookie". All the actors are multi instrumentalists, and it is hard to keep up with who is playing what at times. One minute the guitarist is playing drums, and then he is playing a trumpet. But it is Cookies guitar solo that always steals the show. This time it morphed between several riffs seamlessly. I picked out Smoke On The Water, Purple Haze and Smells Like Teen Spirit in amongst all the guitar tricks. It is brilliant, and if you love good music, you really should go and see the show just for that!

Mum and dad and Dawn had a blast, as did I. Suspect it will be a while before I see the show again, but no doubt I will.

I took this sneaky photo before the show started, when the crew were setting up the ship for lift off, and we were being given our reverse polarity drill!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.