A day off!!

It doesn't happen very often. I do believe I've not sent a single work email today, although I have looked at them and read one or two.

Tomorrow evening I do have what amounts to a work related function - down in the Borders in Chirnside. So we decided to make a weekend of it, and I took today off, and following in the footsteps of Munroist who went there a few days ago, we went to the excellent Conscience and Conflict exhibition at the Laing Art Gallery in Newcastle this morning. It was interesting not least because yesterday at the O'Hagan lecture there was quite a lot about war photography. Here we were looking - in part - at other forms of war art. I was most taken by the line drawings of Felicia Browne, who was sadly killed in action in 1936.

After a snack lunch, we drove north again and met up with Munroist herself for a cup of tea. It was great to meet her in person. Lots to talk about and lots in common. Then we drove north again, and ended up at our hotel.

Off now for a scoff, and thoroughly looking forward to it, after a busy and stimulating day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.