Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

The Fallen

This was a very special Anzac Day.  Special because it was the 100 year anniversary and special because I went to the dawn service in Lake Hawea with my blipmates both Kiwi and Aussie.  We were honoured when they sang the Australian anthem and joined in, except CCN who was too emotional to sing.  I will admit to tearing up.  I am going to try to add on the extra photo thing the shot from this morning.  What a sunrise to honour our armed forces and memory of the Anzacs. 

This was followed by lunch at Snowy's.  What a magnificent garden she has, something to be very proud of and what a feast she provided including Anzac biscuits.  And just when I was leaving I noticed the rays over the lake and so I did a quick detour to Beacon Point.  Some people call these rays the Fingers of God.  There is something magical about being out when the poplar leaves are falling swept up in the wind.  Gold leaves were showering down.  I looked at all of these fallen leaves and imagined they are our Anzacs.  I guess like yellow poppies.


They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old:
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun and in the morning,

We will remember them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.