Capital adventures

By marchmont

One Blip

A better blip will be uploaded later but to be going on with.

Up at 4.30 and off to London City. The DLR was running slow and it took nearly as long to get to Shadwell as the original flight. I walked from Shadwell as I had time,  along Bigland St, formerly Upper Chapman St, where my 3x gt grandparents lived, my 2 x gt grandfather a cooper from. Ireland. Emma L my 2 x gt grandmother born there,  married in Edinburgh, gave birth in Melbourne, died in Porty. I have now followed all her footsteps.

4 meetings, one of which, the main one,was awful. Then off to BH!

I'd been asked to be one of 27 family members supporting Marathon runners. Unfortunately they always ask more people than they need and I was bumped,  but I do have the t-shirt with #2 son's phisog on it.  But I was able to stand outside, watch rehearsals and also the live transmission.  #2 son says I was in shot quite a lot!

Hung around waiting for the boy and friend C to come down from Euston. Saw  Chris Evans leave with his kids but got a rubbish shot. The papa were at the door but can't take shots as he had in his kids in his arms.

Eventually meet up with the Marathon 2 and we had ate (my first meal since 12.30) and I set off South well late.

For some reason got off at LB not Southwark so didn't get to Justallan's till 11.30. V late.

Fantastic wee house.  Former alms houses built for the Drapers' Society with a garden in front.

Collapsed into bed.  Been a good day.  Now London, and the Marathon.

(A better blip has been uploaded).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.