An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Dinner at Eight...

The day started with some very sad news from a friend. Thinking of you A and sending lots of love. Let's get together soon xxxx

I have spent the day doing the final prep of the food for tonight's dinner with friends. The menu is as follows:-

Goats cheese and chive soufflé on a bed of rocket with basil vinaigrette

Roast salmon fillet with a sourdough, smoked bacon and basil crust, jersey royals and asparagus wrapped in prosciutto and Parmesan

Four layer raspberry gateau, apple pie and custard and fresh fruit platter with Greek yogurt

Coffee and chocolates

It's been an interesting afternoon preparing all that without being able to stand or walk very far. David has been an excellent commis chef though and I couldn't have done it without Eleanor's help yesterday.

Really looking forward to seeing the Edinburgh gang, and Ele and Kenny of course. Not seen Gail and Natalie since the gin master class and since then Gail has discovered she's allergic to gin! My worst nightmare!

In other news, I received a text from my pal Heather earlier asking did I know that my mum's police rescue story was the centre spread in the Daily Record today. I didn't but I do now! The journalist was supposed to let me know.

The Record picked up on the story when my mum featured in a BBC documentary in March called A Fair Cop about 100 years of women in the police. The press article is ok but I suspect my mum would have been embarrassed by it. She hated the fuss surrounding it at the time and that didn't change.

Right, better get on. Still to get changed and throw makeup at my face. Watch out world!

:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.