An amazing sky

It really was this colour and I would have missed it if Ann hadn't arrived home at this point and said have you seen the sky.  Looking out of the room window it just looked miserable and dark and gloomy, though I had spotted the rooks which were flying much closer to our houses than they usually do before they sett;ed for the night (the colony now is well over a hundred).  Maybe it was the amazing sunset that had upset them.  Ann had driven back over Grenoside, which is the highest spot around here, and said the sun was like a golden fireball over Penistone and that the sky was purple.  By the time I looked out of the window there was just evidence of the purple sky.

I'd spent most of the day printing and I still haven't solved the problem of what to do with my coloured mono-types.  I did make another dry-point plate out of laminated card, which I could wipe clean but the black line simply wasn't strong enough to show over the dense colour of the lino-prints.  I think I'm either going to have to cut another lino plate (preparation done) or simply draw on top using acrylic ink.  
Unfortunately I ended up with the press set on the wrong pressure for the lino blocks when I printed again; lots of a really lovely blue ink, which meant I ended up with lots of blue prints I don't really nee (maybe they'll make cards); and some fun prints that I made from the impression left on the roller.

My brother came around lunchtime bearing gifts of M&S ready meals which we only had to heat up and mum was feeling well enough to make me a cup of tea :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.