Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Sydney Tower Bridge

Compared to the hot and sunny day yesterday, today it was raining and very cool. Not a good day to do the bridge climb, but we had booked tickets months ago and so we went off to do it after breakfast this morning.

Sydney Harbour Bridge (nicknamed the coat hanger) was built between 1923 and 1932, providing welcome employment for many during the harsh years of the Depression era. It connects central Sydney to the north shore, and is the tallest steel arch bridge at 134m from the top to the water level.

The bridge climb experience takes 3 hours, one of which is taken up with getting dressed in the kit provided - boiler suit, rain trousers, fleece, rain jacket, gloves, harness belt, even a handkerchief. Everything is clipped onto the boiler suit and one is clipped onto a rail that goes the length of the walk, up steep stairs of the pylon across half the bridge to the summit of the arch and then down the other side. I was rather nervous about doing this, as I don't really like heights, but it was not as bad as I thought apart from the weather. It was blowing a gale up on the top of the bridge and the rain was blowing into my face, not pleasant conditions at all. However, I am glad I did it although I was equally glad to be down on terra firma again with a cup of hot tea afterwards. 

We were not allowed cameras on the bridge walk. So I took this image of the bridge tonight - you can see the Anzac image projected on the pylons, and in the distance the Coney Island style fairground called Luna Park.

Thank you for all the favourable comments about yesterday's image. To date it has been my most popular blip, getting the most hearts I have ever had! After that storm, I went out last night to get a shot of the Opera House, and by sheer luck I managed to get another incredible sight...check it out in my 'extra photo'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.