Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Boats, beaches and sunshine

Gavin rushed off to work this morning while Luke and I enjoyed a leisurely breakfast at the hotel. We then caught the ferry to Watsons Bay, and did the short walk around the South Head which was very picturesque with great views of Sydney and the harbour. There are some beautiful houses there with views exactly like this image, of the bay with boats looking towards Sydney. Pricey, but imagine waking up to that view every morning!

Next stop was Bondi as the plan was to have lunch at the famous swimming club, Bondi Icebergs. However, that did not happen as Luke managed to get a 2,5 hour surfing lesson and he had such a great time - I think this is now another sport he is hooked on! As he says, surfing at Bondi beach is a big tick off his bucket list. I wandered up and down the beach and took some photos of the surfers, and although it was a glorious day it was extremely windy. 

Luke and I have just had an excellent meal for supper (Gavin is out on a business dinner so did not join us). I had heard that the food in Sydney is great, and they were not wrong - it is fabulous. The coffee is the best I have ever had, the salads are original and different (today I had a delicious salad with pumpkin cubes, walnuts, pomegranate and soft goats curd/cheese - yummy). They seem to be big on healthy smoothies here, and every where offers gluten free options and soy milk or almond milk which is what I need so I am delighted.

I am overwhelmed by all the favourites I received on my stormy Sydney image - it is still sitting on the first page of 'Popular' which is a new territory for me. I know many of you enjoyed my extra image yesterday of the lightning over the Opera House, but unfortunately it was taken the same day as my stormy Sydney one so I could not blip it. It's like buses, you wait forever to get a good shot and then two come along at once!

Tomorrow we are off to Taronga Zoo and I am so excited - I hope I can cuddle a Koala Bear. I have been talking about this zoo for ages now and looking forward to it so much, that Gavin has arranged for a morning off work to join us!

My extra shot is pre-sunset at that bridge again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.